Marvel / Marvel Movies

Are There 25 Marvel Movies?

If you are a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), you might have heard about the 25 Marvel movies that have been released so far. But is that really true Let’s take a closer look.

What is the Marvel Cinematic Universe

The MCU is a series of interconnected superhero movies produced by Marvel Studios. It all started back in 2008 with the release of Iron Man, and since then, it has grown to become one of the most successful movie franchises in history.

How Many Marvel Movies Are There

As of May 2021, there are actually 24 Marvel movies that have been released. These include:

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

What About the 25th Marvel Movie

So, where does the number 25 come from Well, it turns out that Marvel has announced a number of upcoming movies that will be part of the MCU, but haven’t been released yet. These include:

  • Black Widow
  • The Eternals
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness
  • Thor: Love and Thunder
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
  • The Marvels
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp: Quantumania
  • ,

If we add these upcoming movies to the list of released movies, we get a total of 30 Marvel movies. However, since some of these movies haven’t been released yet, we can’t really count them as part of the official list of MCU movies.


So, to sum it up, there are currently 24 Marvel movies that have been released and are part of the official MCU canon. While there are a number of upcoming movies that will eventually be added to this list, we can’t count them as part of the 25 Marvel movies just yet.