Marvel / Marvel Movies

How Many Marvel Movies Are There as of Now?

How Many Marvel Movies Are There as of Now?

If you’re a fan of superheroes, action, and epic storytelling, chances are you’ve heard of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). Spanning over a decade, the MCU has become a cultural phenomenon, captivating audiences with its interconnected universe and thrilling adventures.

But have you ever wondered just how many Marvel movies there are? Let’s dive into the world of Marvel and find out!

The Beginning: Iron Man

The journey of the Marvel Cinematic Universe began in 2008 with the release of Iron Man. Directed by Jon Favreau and starring Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark/Iron Man, this film laid the foundation for what would become an expansive cinematic universe. With its success, Iron Man paved the way for more superhero films to follow.

Phase One: The Birth of a Universe

In the following years, Marvel Studios released several movies that introduced us to new heroes while expanding upon existing ones. This phase was aptly named “Phase One” and consisted of six films:

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)

This phase culminated in The Avengers, which brought together all these iconic characters in an epic team-up movie.

Phase Two: Expanding the Universe

Building upon the success of Phase One, Marvel Studios continued to expand their universe in “Phase Two.” This phase consisted of six movies:

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

This phase saw the introduction of new heroes like Ant-Man and the Guardians of the Galaxy, further expanding the scope of the MCU.

Phase Three: The Climax

“Phase Three” marked a turning point in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, with a total of eleven movies released. This phase not only introduced new characters but also brought several storylines to a climactic end. Here are the movies that make up Phase Three:

  • Captain America: Civil War

  • In this film, we witness a rift between our beloved heroes as they choose sides in a conflict that has far-reaching consequences.

  • Doctor Strange

  • This movie introduces us to Stephen Strange, a brilliant surgeon turned Sorcerer Supreme, who protects Earth from mystical threats.

  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

  • Our beloved misfit heroes return in this sequel, embarking on a new adventure while uncovering the mysteries of Peter Quill’s parentage.

  • Spider-Man: Homecoming

  • Peter Parker swings back into action as Spider-Man, facing off against the Vulture and balancing his life as a high school student.

  • Thor: Ragnarok

  • In this film, Thor finds himself imprisoned on the planet Sakaar, where he must escape and prevent the destruction of Asgard.

  • Black Panther

  • Wakanda takes center stage as T’Challa embraces his role as Black Panther and faces off against a powerful enemy who threatens his kingdom.

  • Avengers: Infinity War

  • The Avengers and their allies unite to face their greatest threat yet – Thanos, who seeks to obtain all the Infinity Stones for ultimate power.

  • Ant-Man and The Wasp

  • In this film, Ant-Man teams up with The Wasp on a mission to rescue Janet van Dyne from the quantum realm while facing a new adversary.

  • Captain Marvel

  • This movie introduces us to Carol Danvers, aka Captain Marvel, as she becomes one of the universe’s most powerful heroes and fights alongside Nick Fury in an intergalactic battle.

  • Avengers: Endgame

  • The culmination of over a decade of storytelling, this film sees the remaining heroes band together for one final battle against Thanos and his forces.

  • Spider-Man: Far From Home

  • Peter Parker embarks on a school trip to Europe but finds himself pulled into a new adventure when new threats arise.

Phase Four and Beyond

As of now, Phase Four is underway with several new movies and TV series being released. The MCU continues to expand, introducing new characters and exploring different corners of its vast universe.

In conclusion, as of now, there are a total of 24 Marvel movies. This number will undoubtedly increase as Marvel Studios keeps thrilling us with their incredible stories and unforgettable characters. So buckle up and get ready for more action-packed adventures in the Marvel Cinematic Universe!