Marvel / Marvel Movies

How Many Marvel Movies Are There?

If you’re a fan of Marvel movies, you might be wondering just how many films there are in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). Well, wonder no more! In this article, we’ll take a look at all the movies that make up the MCU.

The Marvel Cinematic Universe

The Marvel Cinematic Universe is a shared universe of superhero films and TV shows, produced by Marvel Studios. The universe began with Iron Man in 2008 and has since grown to include over two dozen films and TV shows.

Phase One

Phase One of the MCU consisted of six films released between 2008 and 2012. These films established the core members of the Avengers team and set the stage for future films in the franchise. The Phase One films are:

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)

Phase Two

Phase Two of the MCU consisted of six films released between 2013 and 2015. These films expanded on the universe established in Phase One and introduced new characters like Ant-Man and the Guardians of the Galaxy. The Phase Two films are:

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

Phase Three

Phase Three of the MCU consisted of eleven films released between 2016 and 2019. These films saw the Avengers face their toughest challenges yet, with new characters like Black Panther and Spider-Man joining the fray. The Phase Three films are:

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War(2018)

The Endgame – Phase Four and Beyond

The endgame is here, folks! Phase Four began in January 2021 with WandaVision on Disney+.

It consists of several movies and TV shows that will introduce new characters like Shang-Chi and She-Hulk. At this point in time, there are already over two dozen Marvel movies available to watch.

In conclusion, there are currently over two dozen Marvel movies in the MCU, spanning three distinct phases. Whether you’re a die-hard fan or just getting into the franchise, there’s no shortage of superhero action to enjoy.