Marvel / Marvel Movies

How Many Marvel Phase 3 Movies Are There?

Are you a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe? If so, you may be wondering how many Phase 3 movies there are.

Phase 3 marked the end of an era in the Marvel Cinematic Universe and introduced new characters and storylines that left fans on the edge of their seats. In this article, we’ll take a closer look at how many Phase 3 movies there were and what they were all about.

What is Marvel Phase 3?

Before we dive into how many Marvel Phase 3 movies there are, it’s important to understand what Phase 3 is. Marvel Phase 3 consisted of ten films that were released between 2016 and 2019. These films marked the end of an era for the Marvel Cinematic Universe and set up for what was to come in Phase 4.

How Many Marvel Phase 3 Movies Are There?

There are a total of ten Marvel Phase 3 movies. Here they are in chronological order:

  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Doctor Strange
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming
  • Thor: Ragnarok
  • Black Panther
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp
  • Captain Marvel
  • Avengers: Endgame

What Were These Movies About?

Each movie in Phase 3 had its own unique storyline that contributed to the overall narrative of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Here’s a brief overview of each movie:

Captain America: Civil War (2016)

In Captain America: Civil War, the Avengers are split into two factions after a disagreement over government oversight. Iron Man leads one faction, while Captain America leads another. This leads to an epic battle between the two sides.

Doctor Strange (2016)

Doctor Strange tells the story of a former neurosurgeon who becomes a powerful sorcerer after a career-ending car accident.

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)

In Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, the Guardians must fight to keep their newfound family together as they unravel the mystery of Peter Quill’s true parentage.

Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

Spider-Man: Homecoming follows Peter Parker as he tries to balance his life as a high school student with his superhero duties. He must also face off against a new villain, The Vulture.

Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

In Thor: Ragnarok, Thor is imprisoned on the other side of the universe and must race against time to prevent the destruction of Asgard at the hands of Hela, the goddess of death.

Black Panther (2018)

Black Panther takes place in Wakanda, an isolated and advanced African nation that is home to T’Challa, who becomes king after his father’s death. He must defend his kingdom from threats both internal and external.

Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

In Avengers: Infinity War, Earth’s mightiest heroes must come together to stop Thanos from acquiring all six Infinity Stones and wiping out half of all life in the universe.

Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)

Ant-Man and The Wasp follows Scott Lang as he teams up with Hope van Dyne, who becomes The Wasp, to uncover secrets from their past.

Captain Marvel (2019)

Captain Marvel tells the story of Carol Danvers, a former U.S. Air Force pilot who becomes one of the universe’s most powerful heroes.

Avengers: Endgame (2019)

In Avengers: Endgame, the remaining Avengers must come up with a plan to undo Thanos’ actions and restore balance to the universe.

The End of an Era

Marvel Phase 3 marked the end of an era for the Marvel Cinematic Universe. These ten movies set the stage for what was to come in Phase 4 and beyond. Whether you’re a die-hard Marvel fan or just enjoy a good superhero movie, there’s no denying that Phase 3 was an epic journey that left audiences wanting more.