Marvel / Marvel Movies

How Many Marvel Saga Movies Are There?

If you’re a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), you may be wondering just how many movies are in the Marvel Saga. The Marvel Saga refers to the collection of films that make up the overarching storyline of the MCU. These films all share characters, themes, and a continuity that has spanned over a decade.

The Beginning of the Marvel Saga
The Marvel Saga began in 2008 with the release of “Iron Man,” which starred Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark. This film introduced audiences to the character and established his place in the MCU. It also set up several key plot points that would be explored in future films.

Phase One

After “Iron Man,” several other standalone films were released that introduced more characters to the MCU. These include “The Incredible Hulk,” “Thor,” and “Captain America: The First Avenger.”

In 2012, all of these characters came together for the first time in “The Avengers.” This film marked the end of Phase One of the Marvel Saga.

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)

Phase Two

Phase Two began with “Iron Man 3” and continued with standalone films like “Thor: The Dark World” and “Captain America: The Winter Soldier.” In 2014, all of these characters came together again for “Avengers: Age of Ultron.” Phase Two ended with “Ant-Man.”

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

Phase Three

Phase Three began with “Captain America: Civil War” and continued with standalone films like “Doctor Strange” and “Spider-Man: Homecoming.” In 2018, all of these characters came together for “Avengers: Infinity War.” Phase Three ended with “Spider-Man: Far From Home.”

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

The Future of the Marvel Saga

With Phase Three concluded, many fans are wondering what’s next for the MCU. Phase Four is already underway with the release of “Black Widow” in 2021.

Other upcoming films include “Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings,” “Eternals,” and “Spider-Man: No Way Home.” Additionally, several Disney+ series like “WandaVision” and “The Falcon and The Winter Soldier” are also part of Phase Four.

The Marvel Saga has come a long way since “Iron Man” first hit theaters in 2008. With over 20 films and counting, it’s clear that the MCU is here to stay. Fans can look forward to many more adventures in the years to come.