Marvel / Marvel Movies

How Many Movies Are in the Marvel Cinematic Universe?

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has been a game-changer in the world of cinema. It’s a massive franchise that has taken the world by storm and has become a cultural phenomenon.

Over the years, the MCU has produced some of the biggest blockbuster movies of all time, which have grossed billions of dollars worldwide. But have you ever wondered how many movies are in the Marvel Cinematic Universe? Let’s find out!

What is the Marvel Cinematic Universe?

The Marvel Cinematic Universe is a series of interconnected superhero movies that are produced by Marvel Studios. The franchise began with Iron Man in 2008 and has since grown to include over 20 movies, as well as several TV shows and web series.

How Many Movies Are in the Marvel Cinematic Universe?

As of 2021, there are 23 movies in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. These movies are:

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

The Future of the Marvel Cinematic Universe

The Marvel Cinematic Universe is far from over. There are several new movies and TV shows in the works that will expand the franchise even further. Some of these upcoming projects include:

  • Black Widow

    (2021): A movie that focuses on the character of Natasha Romanoff, also known as Black Widow.


      A movie that introduces a new team of superheroes called The Eternals.

      Spider-Man: No Way Home

      The third Spider-Man movie in the MCU.

      Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness

      A sequel to Doctor Strange that explores alternate realities.

      Thor: Love and Thunder

      The fourth Thor movie in the MCU.

      Captain Marvel 2

      A sequel to Captain Marvel with a new director and new villains.

      Black Panther: Wakanda Forever

      A sequel to Black Panther that explores Wakanda further.

      The Marvels

      A movie that brings together several female superheroes, including Captain Marvel, Ms. Marvel, and Monica Rambeau.


    The Marvel Cinematic Universe has come a long way since its inception in 2008. With 23 movies under its belt and more on the way, it’s safe to say that the MCU is here to stay. Whether you’re a die-hard fan or just getting started with the franchise, there’s never been a better time to jump into the world of superheroes and save-the-world action!