Marvel / Marvel Movies

How Many Movies Are There in the Marvel Collection?

Are you a Marvel fan? Do you know how many movies are there in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU)? Well, the answer may surprise you!

The Marvel Cinematic Universe

The Marvel Cinematic Universe is a series of interconnected superhero movies produced by Marvel Studios. This universe began with the release of “Iron Man” in 2008 and has since expanded to include over 20 films. These films follow various superheroes as they fight against evil forces that threaten humanity.

Phase One

Phase One of the Marvel Cinematic Universe consisted of six films released between 2008 and 2012. These films introduced us to characters like Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, and the Hulk, setting the stage for later movies in the MCU. The movies included in this phase are:

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)

Phase Two

Phase Two of the MCU consisted of six films released between 2013 and 2015. These films built on the events of Phase One and introduced new characters like Ant-Man and the Guardians of the Galaxy. The movies included in this phase are:

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

Phase Three

Phase Three of the MCU consisted of 11 films released between 2016 and 2019. This phase marked the beginning of the end for some of our favorite characters, including Iron Man, Captain America, and Thor. The movies included in this phase are:

Captain America: Civil War (2016)

This movie introduced us to new characters like Black Panther and Spider-Man while pitting our favorite heroes against each other.

Doctor Strange (2016)

This movie introduced us to the mystical side of the Marvel Universe and opened up new possibilities for future films.

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)

This sequel continued the adventures of our favorite space misfits while exploring new aspects of their characters.

Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

This movie brought Spider-Man into the MCU proper and introduced a fresh take on the character.

Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

This movie took Thor in a new direction, introducing new characters like Valkyrie while providing some of the funniest moments in any Marvel film.

Black Panther (2018)

This groundbreaking movie introduced us to Wakanda and explored themes such as race and identity with powerful performances by its cast.

Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

The culmination of ten years’ worth of movies, this film brought together all our favorite heroes to fight against Thanos in a battle for the universe.

Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)

This sequel to Ant-Man provided some much-needed levity after Infinity War while also setting up events for Avengers: Endgame.

Captain Marvel (2019)

This movie introduced us to Carol Danvers, aka Captain Marvel, and explored her origin story while providing a refreshing take on the superhero genre.

Avengers: Endgame (2019)

The epic conclusion of the Infinity Saga, this movie tied up loose ends and provided emotional moments for our favorite characters while changing the course of the MCU forever.

Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

This movie dealt with the aftermath of Endgame while also providing a fun adventure for Spider-Man and his friends.

The Future of the MCU

With over 20 films in the MCU already released, fans are eagerly anticipating what comes next. The upcoming Phase Four will include movies like “Black Widow,” “Shang-Chi and The Legend of The Ten Rings,” and “Doctor Strange in The Multiverse of Madness.” Additionally, several TV shows are set to debut on Disney+, including “WandaVision” and “The Falcon and The Winter Soldier.”

So there you have it – over 20 films in the Marvel Cinematic Universe so far, with more to come. Which one is your favorite? Let us know in the comments below!