Marvel / Marvel Movies

How Many Movies Does Marvel Avengers Have?

Marvel Avengers is a highly successful franchise that has taken the world by storm. With its captivating storylines, incredible visual effects, and talented cast, it’s no wonder that fans can’t get enough of these superhero movies.

But just how many movies does Marvel Avengers have? Let’s dive into the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) and explore the extensive list of films that make up this epic saga.

The Marvel Cinematic Universe

The Marvel Cinematic Universe, commonly known as the MCU, is a shared universe that encompasses an array of superhero films produced by Marvel Studios. These movies are all interconnected and tell a larger story spanning multiple franchises and characters.

Phase One: The Beginning

The MCU kicked off in 2008 with the release of Iron Man, starring Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark aka Iron Man. This film introduced audiences to the concept of a shared universe and set the stage for what was to come. Phase One continued with five more films:

  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)

This first phase brought together Earth’s mightiest heroes in The Avengers, directed by Joss Whedon, which was a massive success both critically and commercially.

Phase Two: Expanding the Universe

In Phase Two, Marvel Studios continued to expand its cinematic universe with another set of exciting films. This phase consisted of six movies:

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

This phase saw the introduction of new characters like the Guardians of the Galaxy and explored deeper storylines within existing franchises.

Phase Three: The Climax

Phase Three marked a significant turning point in the MCU, with Marvel Studios building towards an epic conclusion. This phase comprised a whopping eleven films:

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2(2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming(2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok(2017)

The climax of Phase Three culminated in two monumental movies:

  1. (2018) – Directed by Anthony and Joe Russo, this film brought together characters from across the MCU to battle the formidable villain, Thanos.

  2. (2019) – Serving as the culmination of over a decade of storytelling, this film provided an epic conclusion to many beloved characters’ arcs.

Phase Four and Beyond

After the dramatic events of Avengers: Endgame, the MCU entered Phase Four. This phase introduces new storylines, characters, and adventures for fans to enjoy. While the number of movies in this phase is still growing, we can expect more thrilling films to be added to the Marvel Avengers roster.

In conclusion, as of now, the Marvel Avengers franchise consists of a total of twenty-three movies across four phases. Whether you’re a die-hard fan or just starting your journey into the MCU, there’s no shortage of superhero action and excitement awaiting you.



Note: Movie release dates are subject to change as new films are announced and released.