Marvel / Marvel Movies

How Many Movies Does Marvel Have in Total?

Are you a Marvel fan wondering how many movies are there in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU)? You have come to the right place! In this article, we will dive into the details of how many movies Marvel has produced to date.

Marvel Cinematic Universe

First, let’s define what we mean by “Marvel movies.” The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is a series of interconnected superhero movies produced by Marvel Studios. These movies share a common universe and storyline, with characters crossing over from one movie to another.

Phase One

The MCU began in 2008 with the release of “Iron Man,” which introduced us to Robert Downey Jr.’s Tony Stark. Since then, Marvel Studios has released a total of 23 films within three phases.

Phase One includes six films: “Iron Man” (2008), “The Incredible Hulk” (2008), “Iron Man 2” (2010), “Thor” (2011), “Captain America: The First Avenger” (2011), and “The Avengers” (2012). This phase culminated in the first Avengers team-up movie, bringing together Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, and more.

Phase Two

Phase Two includes six more films: “Iron Man 3” (2013), “Thor: The Dark World” (2013), “Captain America: The Winter Soldier” (2014), “Guardians of the Galaxy” (2014), “Avengers: Age of Ultron” (2015), and “Ant-Man” (2015). This phase saw new characters like Ant-Man and the Guardians of the Galaxy join forces with established heroes like Iron Man and Captain America.

Phase Three

Phase Three is made up of eight films: “Captain America: Civil War” (2016), “Doctor Strange” (2016), “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2” (2017), “Spider-Man: Homecoming” (2017), “Thor: Ragnarok” (2017), “Black Panther” (2018), “Avengers: Infinity War” (2018), and “Ant-Man and the Wasp” (2018). This phase also introduced new heroes like Black Panther and Doctor Strange, while bringing together all of the MCU’s heroes to fight Thanos in “Infinity War.”

Phase Four

Marvel’s fourth phase began with the release of “Black Widow” in 2021. This phase will include films like “Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings,” “Eternals,” and more.

Total Number of Marvel Movies

So, how many movies are there in total? As of now, Marvel Studios has released a total of 23 films within the MCU. With more films planned for Phase Four and beyond, we can expect that number to continue to grow.


In conclusion, Marvel Studios has produced an incredible number of movies within their shared universe. From Iron Man to Black Widow, each film has contributed to an overarching story that has captivated audiences around the world. With Phase Four just beginning, we can’t wait to see what Marvel has in store for us next!