Marvel / Marvel Movies

How Many Movies Has Marvel Made in Total?

Marvel Cinematic Universe has become a household name in the entertainment industry. Since the debut of Iron Man in 2008, Marvel has consistently released blockbuster movies that have captivated audiences across the world.

From Avengers to Spider-Man, Marvel has created a vast universe that has won the hearts of millions of fans. In this article, we will take a look at how many movies Marvel has made in total.

Marvel Cinematic Universe

Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is a media franchise owned by Marvel Studios, which is a subsidiary of Walt Disney Studios. The franchise began with Iron Man in 2008 and has since expanded to include over 20 films. The MCU is set within a shared universe where each film explores different characters and storylines but are all interconnected.

Phase One

The first phase of the MCU consisted of six films that were released between 2008 and 2012. These films set the foundation for the interconnected universe and introduced iconic characters like Iron Man, Thor, and Captain America. The films in Phase One are:

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)

Phase Two

The second phase of the MCU consisted of six films that were released between 2013 and 2015. These films continued to expand the universe and introduced new characters like Ant-Man and Guardians of the Galaxy. The films in Phase Two are:

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

Phase Three

The third phase of the MCU consisted of eleven films that were released between 2016 and 2019. These films marked the end of some characters’ arcs and introduced new ones.

Phase Three also included the highly successful Avengers: Infinity War and Avengers: Endgame. The films in Phase Three are:

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)

The Future

Marvel has announced several upcoming movies and TV shows that will expand the MCU even further. Some of the upcoming releases are:

  • The Falcon and The Winter Soldier (TV Show)
  • WandaVision (TV Show)
  • Black Widow (Movie)
  • The Eternals (Movie)
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (Movie)

In Conclusion

In total, Marvel has made 23 movies in the MCU as of now. The franchise has become a global phenomenon and shows no signs of slowing down. With several upcoming releases, the Marvel Cinematic Universe is sure to continue to entertain and captivate audiences for years to come.