Marvel / Marvel Movies

How Many Phase 2 Marvel Movies Are There?

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is one of the most successful movie franchises in history. The first phase of the MCU began with Iron Man in 2008 and concluded with The Avengers in 2012.

Phase two started with Iron Man 3 in 2013 and ended with Ant-Man in 2015. So, how many Phase 2 Marvel movies are there? Let’s take a closer look.

Phase 2 Marvel Movies

Phase two of the MCU featured six movies:

  • Iron Man 3
  • Thor: The Dark World
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Ant-Man

In addition to these six movies, there were also several TV shows that tied into the events of Phase two, including Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Agent Carter, and Daredevil.

The Plot of Phase 2 Marvel Movies

Each movie in Phase two had its own unique plotline but all contributed to the overarching storyline of the MCU.

In Iron Man 3, Tony Stark deals with post-traumatic stress disorder after his experiences in The Avengers while also facing off against a terrorist known as The Mandarin.

In Thor: The Dark World, Thor must team up with his brother Loki to stop Malekith from using a powerful weapon called the Aether to destroy all nine realms.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier sees Steve Rogers teaming up with Black Widow and Falcon to take down a conspiracy within S. while also facing off against his old friend Bucky Barnes, who has been brainwashed and turned into an assassin known as The Winter Soldier.

Guardians of the Galaxy introduces a new group of heroes, including Star-Lord, Gamora, Drax, Rocket, and Groot. Together they must stop Ronan the Accuser from using a powerful artifact known as the Orb to destroy the planet Xandar.

In Avengers: Age of Ultron, the Avengers must come together once again to stop the villainous Ultron from destroying humanity with his army of robots.

Ant-Man focuses on Scott Lang as he becomes the new Ant-Man under the guidance of Hank Pym and helps stop Pym’s former protégé Darren Cross from using a dangerous technology called the Yellowjacket suit for evil purposes.


In conclusion, Phase 2 of the MCU consisted of six movies that all contributed to the overall storyline of this wildly successful franchise. Each movie had its own unique plotline but all were tied together by recurring characters and events that furthered the narrative. Whether you’re a die-hard Marvel fan or just enjoy superhero movies in general, Phase 2 is definitely worth checking out!