Marvel / Marvel Movies

In What Order Were Marvel Movies Released?

In the world of superhero movies, Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has set a benchmark that is hard to match. From Iron Man to Avengers Endgame, the franchise has taken its viewers on an epic journey of action, drama, and emotions.

But if you’re new to the franchise or just need a quick refresher, it can be tough to know where to start. That’s why we’ve put together this comprehensive guide on the order in which Marvel movies were released.

Phase One: The Beginning of MCU

The first phase of the MCU started with Iron Man in 2008 and ended with The Avengers in 2012. Here’s a list of all the movies that were part of Phase One:

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)

Phase Two: Expansion of MCU Universe

The second phase of MCU began with Iron Man 3 in 2013 and ended with Ant-Man in 2015. This phase saw an expansion of the characters involved as well as their stories. Here are all the movies that were part of Phase Two:

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

Phase Three: The Climax of MCU

The third and final phase of the MCU started with Captain America: Civil War in 2016 and ended with Spider-Man: Far From Home in 2019. This phase saw the climax of the overarching story that began with Iron Man in 2008. Here’s a list of all the movies that were part of Phase Three:

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

The Future of MCU

So what’s next for Marvel? The upcoming Phase Four will feature new characters and new stories, including Black Widow, The Eternals, Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, Spider-Man: No Way Home, and Thor: Love and Thunder.

No matter where you start, the Marvel Cinematic Universe is a thrilling journey that’s sure to keep you on the edge of your seat. We hope this guide helps you navigate the timeline of MCU movies and enjoy this epic franchise to the fullest.