Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Are the 21 Marvel Movies?

Marvel Studios has created a vast cinematic universe that has captured the hearts of millions of fans worldwide. With over 21 movies in their lineup, the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has become a cultural phenomenon. In this article, we will dive into the world of Marvel and explore each of the 21 movies in detail.

Phase 1: The Beginning

Phase 1 of the MCU kicked off with “Iron Man” in 2008, a movie that introduced us to Tony Stark, played by Robert Downey Jr. The success of “Iron Man” set the stage for an interconnected universe where each film built upon the events of its predecessors.

  • The Incredible Hulk (2008): Directed by Louis Leterrier and starring Edward Norton as Bruce Banner, this movie explored the origins of Hulk.
  • Iron Man 2 (2010): Jon Favreau returned to direct this sequel where Tony Stark faced new challenges and adversaries.
  • Thor (2011): Directed by Kenneth Branagh, this film introduced us to the God of Thunder and his journey on Earth.
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011): Joe Johnston directed this period piece that followed Steve Rogers’ transformation into Captain America during World War II.
  • The Avengers (2012): Directed by Joss Whedon, this epic team-up brought together Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, Hulk, Black Widow, and Hawkeye to save Earth from Loki’s invasion.

Phase 2: Expanding the Universe

In Phase 2 of the MCU, the stakes were raised, and the universe expanded even further.

  • Iron Man 3 (2013): Shane Black directed this film where Tony Stark faced the Mandarin, a formidable enemy.
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013): Alan Taylor took the helm for this sequel where Thor reunited with Jane Foster to save the Nine Realms from Malekith.
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014): Directed by Anthony and Joe Russo, this movie delved into political intrigue and introduced the Winter Soldier as a major threat.
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014): James Gunn directed this cosmic adventure that introduced a ragtag group of misfits who band together to save the galaxy.
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015): Joss Whedon returned to direct this sequel where the Avengers face Ultron, an AI bent on destroying humanity.
  • Ant-Man (2015): Peyton Reed directed this heist film that introduced us to Scott Lang as Ant-Man.

Phase 3: The Climax

The third phase of the MCU brought about major changes and concluded several character arcs.

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016): The Russo brothers returned to direct this film where Captain America and Iron Man found themselves on opposing sides in a conflict over superhero registration.
  • Doctor Strange (2016): Scott Derrickson helmed this film that introduced us to Stephen Strange, a brilliant neurosurgeon turned sorcerer.
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017): James Gunn returned to direct the sequel where the Guardians unravel the mystery of Peter Quill’s parentage.
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017): Jon Watts directed this film that brought Spider-Man into the MCU as Peter Parker navigates high school and battles the Vulture.
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017): Taika Waititi directed this comedic yet epic film where Thor and Hulk battle against Hela, the goddess of death.
  • Black Panther (2018): Directed by Ryan Coogler, this groundbreaking film introduced us to Wakanda and its king, T’Challa.
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018): The Russo brothers helmed this movie that saw the Avengers unite with the Guardians of the Galaxy to stop Thanos from collecting all six Infinity Stones.
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018): Peyton Reed returned to direct this sequel where Ant-Man teams up with Hope van Dyne as they search for her mother in the Quantum Realm.
  • Captain Marvel (2019): Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck directed this film that introduced Carol Danvers as Captain Marvel and explored her origins.
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019): The culmination of over a decade of storytelling, this movie saw our heroes attempting to undo Thanos’ actions and restore balance to the universe.
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019): Jon Watts directed this film that followed Peter Parker’s journey as he faced the aftermath of “Avengers: Endgame” and encountered a new threat.

These 21 movies have entertained audiences and created a shared universe like no other. From the origins of Iron Man to the epic conclusion in “Avengers: Endgame,” the Marvel Cinematic Universe has left an indelible mark on pop culture.


Marvel Studios’ 21 movies have redefined what it means to create a shared cinematic universe. With their compelling characters, thrilling storylines, and interconnected plotlines, these films have captivated audiences worldwide. Whether you’re a die-hard fan or new to the Marvel universe, these movies offer an immersive and visually stunning experience that is sure to leave you wanting more.