Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Are the 22 Marvel Movies in Chronological Order?

If you’re a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), then you know that watching the movies in chronological order is the best way to experience the entire saga. With 22 films released so far, it can be daunting to figure out which one comes first and which one comes last. In this article, we’ll break down the 22 Marvel movies in chronological order, so you can watch them in order and fully enjoy the story.

1. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)

The first movie on our list is “Captain America: The First Avenger.”

Set during World War II, it tells the story of Steve Rogers, a frail man who becomes a super-soldier thanks to a serum developed by Dr. Abraham Erskine. Rogers becomes Captain America and fights against HYDRA, a Nazi organization led by Johann Schmidt.

2. Captain Marvel (2019)

Next up is “Captain Marvel,” which takes place in 1995 and introduces us to Carol Danvers, a former U.S. Air Force pilot who becomes a superhero after being exposed to alien technology.

Danvers helps the Kree fight against the Skrulls and learns more about her past.

3. Iron Man (2008)

“Iron Man” follows Tony Stark, a billionaire industrialist who builds an advanced suit of armor after being kidnapped by terrorists.

He uses his new technology to fight against evil and becomes Iron Man.

4. Iron Man 2 (2010)

In “Iron Man 2,” Stark faces off against Ivan Vanko, also known as Whiplash, who has his own suit of armor and wants revenge against Stark for his father’s death.

5. The Incredible Hulk (2008)

“The Incredible Hulk” is the second movie in the MCU and stars Edward Norton as Bruce Banner, a scientist who transforms into a giant green monster whenever he gets angry.

He must battle the military and Emil Blonsky, a soldier who becomes the Abomination.

6. Thor (2011)

“Thor” introduces us to the eponymous god of thunder, who is cast out of Asgard by his father Odin and sent to Earth as punishment for his arrogance.

He must learn humility and prove himself worthy of his powers before he can return home.

7. The Avengers (2012)

“The Avengers” brings together Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, the Hulk, Black Widow, and Hawkeye to fight against Loki and his army of Chitauri invaders.

8. Iron Man 3 (2013)

In “Iron Man 3,” Tony Stark faces off against the Mandarin, a terrorist leader who has been causing chaos around the world.

However, things are not what they seem.

9. Thor: The Dark World (2013)

“Thor: The Dark World” sees Thor teaming up with Jane Foster to stop Malekith from using an ancient weapon called the Aether to destroy the Nine Realms.

10. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

In “Captain America: The Winter Soldier,” Steve Rogers teams up with Black Widow and Falcon to uncover a conspiracy within S.H.I.E.L.D.

involving HYDRA and a brainwashed Bucky Barnes, also known as the Winter Soldier.

11. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

“Guardians of the Galaxy” introduces us to a group of misfits, including Peter Quill, Gamora, Drax, Rocket, and Groot, who team up to stop Ronan the Accuser from using an Infinity Stone to destroy Xandar.

12. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.

2 (2017)

“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2” picks up where the first movie left off and sees the team unraveling the mystery of Peter Quill’s father while also battling a new enemy.

13. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

In “Avengers: Age of Ultron,” Tony Stark creates an artificial intelligence named Ultron to protect Earth, but things go awry when Ultron decides that humanity needs to be destroyed.

14. Ant-Man (2015)

“Ant-Man” follows Scott Lang as he becomes Ant-Man after stealing a suit developed by Hank Pym, a former S.

agent who wants him to use it for good.

15. Captain America: Civil War (2016)

“Captain America: Civil War” sees Steve Rogers and Tony Stark at odds over whether or not superheroes should be regulated by the government.

The Avengers are split into two factions and must fight against each other.

16. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

“Spider-Man: Homecoming” introduces us to Tom Holland’s version of Peter Parker as he navigates high school while also fighting crime as Spider-Man.

17. Doctor Strange (2016)

“Doctor Strange” follows Stephen Strange, a brilliant but arrogant surgeon who becomes a master of the mystic arts after a car accident leaves him unable to use his hands.

18. Black Panther (2018)

“Black Panther” takes place after the events of “Captain America: Civil War” and sees T’Challa returning to Wakanda to become king after his father’s death.

He must also protect his country from an outsider named Killmonger who wants to take over.

19. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

In “Thor: Ragnarok,” Thor is imprisoned on the planet Sakaar and forced to fight in gladiatorial games against his old friend the Hulk.

He must also stop Hela, the goddess of death, from destroying Asgard.

20. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

“Avengers: Infinity War” brings together all of the MCU heroes as they fight against Thanos, a powerful alien who wants to collect all six Infinity Stones so he can wipe out half of all life in the universe.

21. Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)

In “Ant-Man and The Wasp,” Scott Lang teams up with Hope van Dyne, also known as the Wasp, to rescue her mother from the quantum realm while also avoiding a new villain named Ghost.

22. Avengers: Endgame (2019)

“Avengers: Endgame” picks up where “Infinity War” left off as the remaining heroes try to figure out a way to undo Thanos’ snap and bring back their fallen comrades.


So there you have it, the 22 Marvel movies in chronological order. Watching them in this order will give you the full story of the MCU and allow you to fully appreciate the characters and their journeys.

Happy watching!