Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Are the 43 Marvel Movies?

If you’re a fan of superheroes and epic storylines, then you’ve probably heard of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). Since 2008, Marvel Studios has produced a whopping 43 movies that have captured the hearts and imaginations of millions of people around the world. Here’s a breakdown of the MCU movies, including some key details you might not know.

Phase One: The Beginning

The first phase of the MCU kicked off with “Iron Man” in 2008. This movie introduced us to Tony Stark (played by Robert Downey Jr.), a billionaire industrialist who develops a high-tech suit of armor and becomes a superhero. The other movies in Phase One include:

  • The Incredible Hulk: This movie features Bruce Banner (played by Edward Norton) as he struggles to control his anger and transform into the Hulk.
  • Iron Man 2: In this sequel, Tony Stark faces off against new enemies while dealing with personal issues.
  • Thor: Thor (played by Chris Hemsworth), the God of Thunder, is cast down to Earth and must learn humility as he battles his brother Loki.
  • Captain America: The First Avenger: Steve Rogers (played by Chris Evans) becomes Captain America during World War II and fights against Hydra, an evil organization led by Red Skull.
  • The Avengers: In this epic crossover event, Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, Hulk, Black Widow (played by Scarlett Johansson), and Hawkeye (played by Jeremy Renner) team up to battle Loki and his army.

Phase Two: Expansion

Phase Two saw the MCU expand even further with new heroes and villains. The movies in this phase include:

  • Iron Man 3: Tony Stark faces off against the Mandarin, a powerful terrorist who threatens his loved ones.
  • Thor: The Dark World: Thor must team up with Loki to stop Malekith from using an ancient weapon to destroy the universe.
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier: Steve Rogers teams up with Black Widow and the Falcon (played by Anthony Mackie) to stop a conspiracy within S.H.I.E.L.D.
  • Guardians of the Galaxy: This movie introduces us to a new group of heroes, including Star-Lord (played by Chris Pratt), Gamora (played by Zoe Saldana), Drax (played by Dave Bautista), Rocket Raccoon (voiced by Bradley Cooper), and Groot (voiced by Vin Diesel).
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron: The Avengers must stop Ultron, an artificial intelligence created by Tony Stark that turns evil and seeks to destroy humanity.
  • Ant-Man: Scott Lang (played by Paul Rudd) becomes Ant-Man, a superhero who can shrink in size but increase in strength.

Phase Three: The Endgame

Phase Three saw the MCU reach new heights with bigger budgets and even more characters. The movies in this phase include:

  • Captain America: Civil War: The Avengers are divided when Captain America and Iron Man disagree over government oversight of superheroes.
  • Doctor Strange: Stephen Strange (played by Benedict Cumberbatch) becomes a sorcerer and must battle against a former ally who seeks to destroy reality.
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2: The Guardians must protect the universe from a powerful being while dealing with personal issues.
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming: Peter Parker (played by Tom Holland) balances life as a high school student and a superhero while facing off against the Vulture.
  • Thor: Ragnarok: Thor must escape from a gladiator arena and stop his evil sister Hela from destroying Asgard.
  • Black Panther: T’Challa (played by Chadwick Boseman) becomes king of Wakanda and must defend his people from an outsider who seeks to steal their technology.
  • Avengers: Infinity War: The Avengers team up with the Guardians of the Galaxy to stop Thanos (played by Josh Brolin) from collecting all six Infinity Stones, which would give him godlike power.
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp: Scott Lang teams up with Hope van Dyne (played by Evangeline Lilly) as they search for her mother who has been lost in the quantum realm for years.
  • Captain Marvel: Carol Danvers (played by Brie Larson) becomes Captain Marvel, one of the most powerful heroes in the MCU, as she battles against an alien race called the Skrulls.
  • Avengers: Endgame: The Avengers travel through time to collect the Infinity Stones and undo Thanos’ snap, which wiped out half of all life in the universe.

The Future of the MCU

The 43rd and most recent movie in the MCU is “Spider-Man: Far From Home,” which takes place after the events of “Avengers: Endgame.” However, Marvel Studios has announced several new movies and TV shows that will expand the MCU even further. Some of these include:

  • Black Widow: A prequel movie that explores Natasha Romanoff’s past.
  • The Falcon and The Winter Soldier: A TV show that follows Sam Wilson (played by Anthony Mackie) and Bucky Barnes (played by Sebastian Stan) as they team up for adventures.
  • The Eternals: A movie that introduces a new group of immortal beings who have been living on Earth for thousands of years.
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings: A movie that introduces Shang-Chi, a master martial artist who must confront his past.
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness: The sequel to “Doctor Strange” that promises to be even more mind-bending.

As you can see, the MCU has come a long way since “Iron Man” in 2008. With so many great movies and characters, there’s something for everyone in this epic superhero universe.