Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Is the Canon Order of Marvel Movies?

Are you a Marvel fan looking to watch the movies in the correct order? With over 20 films in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), it can be challenging to know where to start. In this article, we will explore the canon order of Marvel movies and guide you through the epic journey of our favorite superheroes.

The Release Order

The release order is a popular way to experience the Marvel movies, as it allows you to witness the evolution of the MCU and follow the storylines as they were originally presented to audiences.

  • Iron Man (2008): The film that started it all, introducing us to Tony Stark and his alter ego Iron Man.
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008): This film follows Bruce Banner’s transformation into Hulk and his struggle with controlling his anger.
  • Iron Man 2 (2010): Tony Stark faces new challenges as he battles enemies while dealing with his own personal issues.
  • Thor (2011): Enter Asgard and meet Thor, the god of thunder, as he embarks on a journey of self-discovery.
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011): Join Steve Rogers as he becomes Captain America during World War II.
  • The Avengers (2012): Witness Earth’s mightiest heroes coming together for the first time to save humanity from Loki’s invasion.

The Chronological Order

If you prefer to experience the events in chronological order within the MCU timeline, here is an alternate viewing order:

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011): Start at the beginning with Steve Rogers’ transformation into Captain America.
  • Captain Marvel (2019): Go back to the ’90s and discover the origin story of Carol Danvers, aka Captain Marvel.
  • Iron Man (2008): Witness Tony Stark’s journey to becoming Iron Man.
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008): Follow Bruce Banner’s transformation into the Hulk.
  • Iron Man 2 (2010): Continue Tony Stark’s story as he faces new challenges.
  • Thor (2011): Enter Asgard and meet Thor, the god of thunder.

The Importance of End Credits Scenes

In both viewing orders, it is essential not to skip the end credits scenes. Marvel is known for teasing future films and connecting storylines through these scenes. Some end credits scenes provide crucial information for understanding the overall MCU narrative.

The Benefits of Both Orders

Whether you choose the release order or chronological order, both have their benefits. The release order allows you to experience the movies as they were unveiled to audiences, creating an organic progression. On the other hand, watching in chronological order provides a different perspective by following events in a linear fashion within the MCU timeline.

No matter which order you choose, immersing yourself in the world of Marvel movies is an adventure like no other. So grab some popcorn, assemble your friends, and get ready for an epic marathon!

Now that you know about both viewing orders, it’s time to decide which one suits you best. Happy watching!