Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Is the Correct Order to Watch Marvel Movies?

Are you a Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) fan looking to re-watch the movies in the right order? Or are you new to the franchise and wondering where to start? Here’s a guide to help you understand the chronological order of the Marvel movies.

What is the Marvel Cinematic Universe?

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is a series of interconnected superhero movies produced by Marvel Studios. The films are based on characters from Marvel Comics, including Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, and The Avengers.

The Correct Order to Watch Marvel Movies

If you want to watch the MCU movies in chronological order, here’s how:

Phase One

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (1943 – 1945)
  • Captain Marvel (1995)
  • Iron Man (2010)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2011)
  • Iron Man 2 (2011)
  • Thor (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)

Phase Two

  • Iron Man 3 (2012)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier takes place after the events of The Avengers but before Age of Ultron.

  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 takes place shortly after the first movie.

  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

Phase Three

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Captain America: Civil War takes place after Age of Ultron but before Doctor Strange and Spider-Man: Homecoming.

  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2016 – 2017)
  • The main events in Spider-Man: Homecoming take place after Civil War.

  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2017)
  • The events in Black Panther take place not long after Civil War and before Infinity War.

  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • The events in Avengers: Infinity War take place two years after the events in Captain America: Civil War.


      • All movies listed above are available on Disney+ except for The Incredible Hulk, which is available on Amazon Prime Video.
      • Spider-Man: Homecoming and Spider-Man: Far From Home are Sony Pictures movies, but they are part of the MCU and are available on Disney+.

Phase Four

  • Black Widow (2021)
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2021)
  • Eternals (2021)
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home (December 17, 2021)
  • The release date for Spider-Man: No Way Home is subject to change.


      • All Phase Four movies are available on Disney+ with Premier Access. They will be available to all Disney+ subscribers three months after their theatrical release.

    In Conclusion

    Watching the Marvel movies in chronological order can be a fun way to experience the MCU. However, it’s important to note that some movies may not make sense if you haven’t seen them in release order. So, if you’re new to the franchise, watching them in the order they were released may be a better option.

    Regardless of which order you choose, sit back, relax and enjoy the ride!