Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Is the Correct Order to Watch the Marvel Movies In?

If you’re a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), you know how exciting and complex the movies can be. With so many films in the franchise, it can be challenging to know where to start or what order to watch them in. In this article, we’ll break down the correct order to watch the Marvel movies and help you get caught up on all the action-packed superhero adventures.

Chronological Order vs Release Order

One of the biggest debates among Marvel fans is whether to watch the movies in chronological order or release order. Chronological order follows the timeline of events in the MCU, while release order follows when each movie was released in theaters.

Chronological Order:
1. Captain America: The First Avenger
2. Captain Marvel
3. Iron Man
4. Iron Man 2
5. The Incredible Hulk
6. Thor
7. The Avengers
8. Iron Man 3
9. Thor: The Dark World

Captain America: The Winter Soldier
11. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 1
12. 2
13. Avengers: Age of Ultron
14. Ant-Man
15. Captain America: Civil War
16. Spider-Man: Homecoming
17. Doctor Strange
18. Black Panther
19.Avengers: Infinity War
20.Ant-Man and The Wasp
21.Captain Marvel (End Credits Scene)
22.Avengers: Endgame

Release Order:
1.Iron Man (2008)
2.The Incredible Hulk (2008)
3.Iron Man 2 (2010)
4.Thor (2011)
5.Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
6.The Avengers (2012)
7.Iron Man 3 (2013)
8.Thor: The Dark World (2013)
9.Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
10.Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
11.Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
12.Ant-Man (2015)
13.Captain America: Civil War (2016)
14.Doctor Strange (2016)
15.Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
16.Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
17.Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
18.Black Panther( 2018)
19.Avengers: Infinity War( 2018)
20.Ant-Man and the Wasp( 2018)
21.Captain Marvel( 2019)
22.Avengers Endgame( 2019)

Why Chronological Order Makes Sense

While the release order can be enjoyable, watching in chronological order can provide a more immersive experience, as you follow the characters and events in a more cohesive manner. For example, watching Captain America: The First Avenger first helps establish his character and origin story before he joins the Avengers. Additionally, watching Captain Marvel before Iron Man can help reinforce her importance in the MCU.

Additional Viewing Tips

It’s worth noting that some movies include post-credit scenes that set up future movies or tease upcoming events. These scenes are often essential to understanding the larger narrative and should not be skipped.

Also, while not officially part of the MCU, some Marvel movies are worth watching for fun or to learn more about specific characters. These include X-Men and Spiderman films produced by different studios.

The Bottom Line

Ultimately, whether you choose to watch in chronological order or release order is up to you. Both options have their benefits, but for a more immersive experience, watching in chronological order is recommended. Regardless of how you choose to watch, the Marvel movies are sure to provide thrilling action, unforgettable characters, and an epic universe to explore.