Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Is the Official Order of the Marvel Movies?

Are you a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) and wondering what the official order of the Marvel movies is? Look no further!

In this article, we’ll provide you with a comprehensive guide to help you navigate through the vast and interconnected world of Marvel films.

Phase One: The Beginning

The first phase of the MCU introduced us to some of our favorite superheroes and set the stage for what was to come. Here’s the official order:

  • Iron Man (2008): This is where it all began. Follow Tony Stark as he becomes Iron Man and kickstarts the MCU.
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008): Witness Bruce Banner’s transformation into the Hulk as he battles his inner demons.
  • Iron Man 2 (2010): Tony Stark faces new challenges and meets new allies in this action-packed sequel.
  • Thor (2011): Enter the mystical realm of Asgard and witness Thor’s journey towards becoming worthy of his powers.
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011): Join Steve Rogers as he becomes Captain America and fights against Hydra during World War II.
  • The Avengers (2012): Earth’s mightiest heroes unite to battle Loki and his alien army in this epic team-up film.

Phase Two: Expanding Horizons

In phase two, the MCU expanded its roster of heroes and explored new storylines. Here’s how these films should be watched:

  • Iron Man 3 (2013): Tony Stark faces his most personal and dangerous enemy yet.
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013): Thor must save the Nine Realms from Malekith, the leader of the Dark Elves.
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014): Steve Rogers teams up with Black Widow to uncover a conspiracy within S.H.I.E.L.D.
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014): Join this ragtag group of misfits as they protect the galaxy from cosmic threats.
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015): The Avengers face off against Ultron, an artificial intelligence determined to wipe out humanity.
  • Ant-Man (2015): Scott Lang becomes Ant-Man and helps his mentor, Hank Pym, in a heist that could save the world.

Phase Three: The Climax

The third phase of the MCU brings together all the previous films’ storylines and introduces new ones. Here’s how it all fits together:

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016): The Avengers are divided into two factions as they face off against each other.
  • Doctor Strange (2016): Enter the mystical world of sorcery as Doctor Strange becomes Earth’s protector against dark forces.
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017): Join Star-Lord and his crew as they unravel the mystery of Peter Quill’s true parentage.
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017): Peter Parker balances his life as a high school student and his responsibilities as Spider-Man.
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017): Thor must save Asgard from destruction and face off against his sister, Hela.
  • Black Panther (2018): Follow T’Challa as he becomes the king of Wakanda and faces a powerful enemy.
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018): The Avengers and their allies unite to stop Thanos from collecting all the Infinity Stones.
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018): Scott Lang teams up with Hope van Dyne to uncover secrets from the past.
  • Captain Marvel (2019): Witness Carol Danvers’ journey as she becomes one of the universe’s most powerful heroes.
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019): The remaining Avengers band together for one last mission to defeat Thanos and bring back those they lost.
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019): Peter Parker embarks on a school trip while dealing with the aftermath of the events in Endgame.

The Future: Phase Four and Beyond

The MCU continues to expand with new films, TV shows, and crossovers. While we cannot predict every release, here are some upcoming projects:

  • The Falcon and The Winter Soldier: This Disney+ series follows Sam Wilson/Falcon and Bucky Barnes/Winter Soldier after the events of Endgame. It takes place after Endgame.
  • WandaVision: Also a Disney+ series, it explores the lives of Wanda Maximoff/Scarlet Witch and Vision.
  • Black Widow: A standalone film that takes place before the events of Endgame.
  • The Eternals: This film introduces a new group of heroes and expands the cosmic side of the MCU.

Remember, this is just a guide to help you watch the Marvel movies in chronological order. Feel free to mix it up or follow your own preferences. Enjoy your journey through the Marvel Cinematic Universe!