Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Is the Order of the Marvel Comics Movies?

If you’re a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, you may have wondered what the proper order is to watch all of the movies. With over 20 films released so far, it can be overwhelming to figure out where to start and how to follow along. In this article, we’ll break down the chronological order of the Marvel Comics movies and provide some context along the way.

Chronological Order of Marvel Comics Movies

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)
  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2 (2017)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
    • The Timeline Split

      At this point in the timeline, there is a split. Some events occur simultaneously, while others happen in different points in time.

      • Ant-Man (2015)
      • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
      • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

      These three movies occur after Avengers: Age of Ultron, but before Avengers: Infinity War. It’s important to watch them in this order to understand the events leading up to Infinity War.

    • Doctor Strange (2016)
    • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
    • Black Panther (2018)
    • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
    • Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)
    • Avengers: Endgame (2019)

It’s important to note that the Marvel Comics movies don’t necessarily need to be watched in this order. Many of the films can stand alone as their own stories, but watching them in chronological order can provide a better understanding of the overall narrative and character development.

In Conclusion

The Marvel Comics movies offer a complex and detailed universe that can be intimidating to navigate. However, by watching the films in chronological order, you’ll be able to follow along with the story and enjoy each movie on its own merits. Whether you’re a die-hard fan or a newcomer to the franchise, this guide can help you get started on your Marvel journey.