Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Is the Order of the Marvel Superhero Movies?

Are you a Marvel fan looking for the perfect order to watch the Marvel superhero movies? Look no further! In this article, we’ll take you through the chronological order of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) films.

What Is the MCU?

The MCU is a series of interconnected superhero films produced by Marvel Studios. The first MCU film, Iron Man, was released in 2008 and since then, there have been over 20 films featuring popular superheroes like Spider-Man, Captain America, and Thor.

The Chronological Order of the Marvel Superhero Movies

To fully appreciate the MCU, it’s important to watch the films in chronological order. Here’s how:

1. Captain America: The First Avenger (1942-1945)

The film follows Steve Rogers’ transformation into Captain America during World War II.

2. Captain Marvel (1995)

This film is set in 1995 and follows Carol Danvers as she becomes one of the most powerful heroes in the universe.

3. Iron Man (2010)

Iron Man tells the story of Tony Stark and his journey to become a superhero.

4. Iron Man 2 (2011)

In this film, Tony Stark faces new challenges as he battles villains and tries to keep his technology out of the wrong hands.

5. The Incredible Hulk (2011)

This film follows Bruce Banner as he transforms into The Hulk and tries to control his powers.

6. Thor (2011)

Thor tells the story of how Thor was banished from Asgard and sent to Earth, where he had to learn how to be a true hero.

7. The Avengers (2012)

The Avengers brings together Earth’s mightiest heroes to battle Loki and his army.

8. Iron Man 3 (2012)

This film follows Tony Stark as he tries to cope with the aftermath of The Avengers and battles a new enemy, The Mandarin.

9. Thor: The Dark World (2013)

In this film, Thor must save the Nine Realms from an ancient evil known as the Dark Elves.

10. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

Captain America teams up with Black Widow and Falcon to stop a conspiracy within S.H.I.E.L.D.

11. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

Guardians of the Galaxy introduces a new group of heroes who must work together to save the galaxy from destruction.

12. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2014)

In this sequel, the Guardians must fight to keep their newfound family together while facing new threats.

13. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

The Avengers must stop Ultron from destroying humanity with his robotic army.

14. Ant-Man (2015)

Ant-Man follows Scott Lang as he becomes Ant-Man and helps Hank Pym protect his shrinking technology from falling into the wrong hands.

15. Captain America: Civil War (2016)

The Avengers are torn apart when they disagree over whether or not to sign a treaty regulating their powers.

16. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2016)

Spider-Man teams up with Iron Man to stop Vulture from selling weapons made with alien technology.

17. Doctor Strange (2016-2017)

Doctor Strange must learn how to use his magical powers to protect the world from evil.

18. Black Panther (2017)

Black Panther becomes king of Wakanda and must defend his kingdom from enemies both internal and external.

19. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

In this film, Thor must battle his sister Hela and save Asgard from destruction.

20. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

The Avengers and their allies must stop Thanos from collecting the Infinity Stones and destroying half of all life in the universe.

21. Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)

Ant-Man teams up with The Wasp to rescue her mother from the quantum realm while dealing with a new enemy, Ghost.

22. Avengers: Endgame (2019)

The Avengers travel through time to collect the Infinity Stones and bring back their fallen comrades in the epic conclusion to the MCU saga.

  • Note: Spider-Man: Far From Home takes place after Endgame but it’s best watched after Endgame.

Now that you know the chronological order of the Marvel superhero movies, it’s time to grab some popcorn and get ready for an epic journey through the MCU!