Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Marvel Movies Are Made by Disney?

If you’re a Marvel fan, you may have wondered which Marvel movies are made by Disney. With the acquisition of Marvel Entertainment in 2009, Disney gained the rights to produce and distribute Marvel films.

Since then, Disney has released numerous blockbuster hits that have taken the world by storm. Here is a list of all the Marvel movies that were made by Disney:

Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Phase One:

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)


All of these movies were produced by Kevin Feige and distributed by Paramount Pictures except for The Avengers which was distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures.

Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Phase Two:

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • In 2015, Kevin Feige announced that Marvel Studios would be reporting directly to the Walt Disney Studios chairman, Alan Horn. This meant that Disney would now have full creative control over the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

  • Ant-Man (2015)

Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Phase Three:

Phase three of the MCU saw the release of some of the biggest Marvel movies to date. Here are all the films from this phase:

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • In December 2017, Disney acquired most of 21st Century Fox’s assets, including the film rights to X-Men and Fantastic Four.

    This meant that these characters could now be integrated into the MCU.

  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)
  • In March 2019, it was announced that all future Marvel films would be produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures.

  • Captain Marvel(2019)
  • Disney also launched their streaming service Disney+ in November 2019, which features exclusive Marvel shows. The first show released was:

  • The Falcon and The Winter Soldier(2021)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home(2019)

Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Phase Four:

The fourth phase of the MCU began in January 2021 with the release of:

  • WandaVision
  • This show was followed by:

  • The Falcon and The Winter Soldier
  • Loki
  • The following movies are scheduled to be released as part of Phase Four:

  • Black Widow (2021)
  • Note: This movie was originally slated to release in May 2020, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, its release date was pushed back multiple times.

In conclusion, Disney has produced and distributed a vast majority of the Marvel movies that have been released since they acquired Marvel Entertainment. With the acquisition of Fox’s assets, Disney now has even more characters to play with in their future films and shows.