Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Marvel Movies Are Phase 2?

Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is a massive franchise that has taken the world by storm. The films have captured the hearts of millions of fans with their epic action sequences, gripping storylines, and unforgettable characters.

Phase 2 of the MCU was a pivotal moment for the franchise, as it introduced new characters and expanded the universe even further. In this article, we will take a deep dive into what Marvel movies are included in Phase 2.

What is Phase 2?

Phase 2 of the MCU began after the success of The Avengers in 2012. It consisted of six films that were released between 2013 and 2015. These films were Iron Man 3, Thor: The Dark World, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, Avengers: Age of Ultron, and Ant-Man.

Iron Man 3

Iron Man 3 was released in May 2013 and marked the beginning of Phase 2. The film followed Tony Stark (played by Robert Downey Jr.) as he battled against a terrorist known as The Mandarin. This film was unique in that it focused more on Tony Stark’s character development rather than just his superhero alter-ego.

Thor: The Dark World

Thor: The Dark World was released in November 2013 and saw Chris Hemsworth reprise his role as Thor. This time around, Thor had to team up with his villainous brother Loki to defeat Malekith the Accursed. This film also introduced one of the Infinity Stones – The Aether.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Captain America: The Winter Soldier was released in April 2014 and starred Chris Evans as Steve Rogers/Captain America. This film saw Captain America team up with Black Widow (played by Scarlett Johansson) to uncover a conspiracy within S.H.I.E.L.D. and battle against the deadly Winter Soldier.

Guardians of the Galaxy

Guardians of the Galaxy was released in August 2014 and introduced a new set of characters to the MCU. The film followed Peter Quill (played by Chris Pratt) and his team of misfits as they tried to stop Ronan the Accuser from destroying an entire planet. This film was a major success and paved the way for more cosmic adventures in the MCU.

Avengers: Age of Ultron

Avengers: Age of Ultron was released in May 2015 and saw Earth’s Mightiest Heroes come together once again to battle against Ultron – an artificial intelligence created by Tony Stark. This film also introduced two new Avengers – Scarlet Witch (played by Elizabeth Olsen) and Quicksilver (played by Aaron Taylor-Johnson). It was a critical success but received some criticism for its convoluted plot.


Ant-Man was released in July 2015 and starred Paul Rudd as Scott Lang/Ant-Man. This film followed Lang as he tried to pull off a heist while wearing a suit that gave him the ability to shrink in size but increase in strength. This film also introduced another important character – Hope van Dyne (played by Evangeline Lilly) – who would later become The Wasp.


Phase 2 of the MCU was an exciting time for fans, as it introduced new characters, expanded the universe, and set up important plot points for future films. With Phase 4 currently underway, it will be interesting to see how these films continue to shape the overall narrative of the MCU.