Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Marvel Movies Have Been Nominated for Oscars?

If you’re a Marvel fan, you know that the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has been dominating the box office for over a decade. But, have you ever wondered if any of the movies in the franchise have been nominated for an Oscar? In this article, we’ll take a look at all the Marvel movies that have been recognized by the Academy Awards.

Iron Man (2008)

The very first movie in the MCU, Iron Man, received two Oscar nominations. It was nominated for Best Sound Editing and Best Visual Effects. Unfortunately, it didn’t win either award.

The Avengers (2012)

The Avengers was a massive success at the box office and with critics. It was nominated for Best Visual Effects but lost to Life of Pi.

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

Guardians of the Galaxy was a surprise hit when it was released in 2014. The film received two nominations for Best Visual Effects and Best Makeup and Hairstyling. However, it didn’t win either award.

Doctor Strange (2016)

Doctor Strange received one Oscar nomination for Best Visual Effects but lost to The Jungle Book.

Black Panther (2018)

Black Panther made history as the first superhero movie to be nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars. The film also received five other nominations including Best Costume Design, Best Original Score, Best Production Design, Best Sound Editing, and Best Sound Mixing. Black Panther won three out of its six nominations: Best Costume Design, Best Production Design, and Best Original Score.


While not all Marvel movies have been recognized by the Academy Awards, these six films show that superhero movies can be more than just action-packed entertainment. They can also be works of art that showcase incredible visual effects and storytelling. It’ll be interesting to see if any future MCU movies will be able to follow in Black Panther’s footsteps and win big at the Oscars.