Marvel / Marvel Universe

What Movie Comes First in the Marvel Universe?

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is a sprawling interconnected series of superhero movies that has taken the world by storm. With over 20 films and counting, it can be difficult to know where to start when watching the Marvel movies. In this article, we will answer the question, “What movie comes first in the Marvel universe?”

The answer is: Iron Man (2008)

Iron Man was the first film released in the Marvel Cinematic Universe and it set the stage for all of the films that would follow. The movie tells the story of Tony Stark, a billionaire playboy who becomes a superhero after being kidnapped and forced to build a weapon for terrorists.

Why start with Iron Man?

Starting with Iron Man makes sense because it introduces many of the key concepts and characters that will appear throughout the rest of the MCU. For example:

  • S.H.I.E.L.D. – The organization that Nick Fury works for is introduced in Iron Man.
  • The Avengers Initiative. – The post-credits scene in Iron Man shows Nick Fury approaching Tony Stark about joining a team of superheroes.
  • J.A.R.V.S. – Tony Stark’s AI assistant J. is introduced in this film and plays an important role in later films.

The Chronological Order

While Iron Man was released first, it’s not actually the first movie chronologically in the MCU timeline. Here is a list of all MCU movies arranged chronologically:

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger (takes place during World War II)
  2. Captain Marvel (takes place in 1995)
  3. Iron Man (takes place in 2010)
  4. The Incredible Hulk (timeframe is a little unclear, but it’s assumed to take place around the same time as Iron Man)
  5. Iron Man 2
  6. Thor
  7. The Avengers
  8. Iron Man 3
  9. Thor: The Dark World
  10. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  11. Guardians of the Galaxy
  12. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  13. The Avengers: Age of Ultron
  14. Ant-Man
  15. Captain America: Civil War
  16. Spider-Man: Homecoming (takes place after Civil War)
  17. Doctor Strange (takes place during the events of Civil War)
  18. Black Panther
  19. Thor: Ragnarok (takes place immediately before Infinity War)
  20. Avengers: Infinity War
  21. Ant-Man and The Wasp (takes place before Infinity War)
  22. Avengers: Endgame (starts in 2018 and ends in 2023)
  23. In conclusion..

    While there are different ways to watch the Marvel movies, starting with Iron Man is a great way to get introduced to the world of superheroes and supervillains that populate the MCU. From there, you can watch the movies in release order or chronological order – whichever you prefer!