Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Order Do the Marvel Movies Go In?

Are you ready to immerse yourself in the world of Marvel? The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is a vast and complex world that has captivated audiences around the globe.

From Iron Man to Avengers: Endgame, the MCU has been a rollercoaster ride of emotions, action and adventure. However, with so many movies in the franchise, it can be challenging to figure out which movie comes next in the timeline. In this article, we will guide you through the correct order to watch all the movies in the MCU.

Chronological Order

The first order we will discuss is the chronological order of events that happen within the MCU. This means that we will start with movies set in earlier years and move forward towards more recent events.

Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)

This movie takes place during World War II and introduces us to Steve Rogers, who later becomes Captain America.

Captain Marvel (2019)

The second movie on our list is set in 1995 and follows Carol Danvers as she becomes Captain Marvel.

Iron Man (2008)

Iron Man was released first but chronologically takes place after Captain America: The First Avenger. It introduces us to Tony Stark as he becomes Iron Man.

The Incredible Hulk (2008)

This movie is set at roughly the same time as Iron Man and shows us Bruce Banner’s transformation into The Hulk.

Iron Man 2 (2010)

Iron Man 2 picks up where Iron Man left off and introduces us to new characters like Black Widow.

Thor (2011)

Thor takes place around the same time as Iron Man 2 and introduces us to Asgardian mythology.

The Avengers (2012)

The Avengers brings all of our heroes together for the first time to fight against Loki and his army.

Iron Man 3 (2013)

Set after the events of The Avengers, Iron Man 3 shows us Tony Stark’s struggle with PTSD and introduces us to The Mandarin.

Thor: The Dark World (2013)

This movie takes place after the events of The Avengers and follows Thor as he battles Malekith.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

Captain America: The Winter Soldier is set two years after the events of The Avengers and follows Steve Rogers as he uncovers a conspiracy within S.H.I.E.L.D.

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

Guardians of the Galaxy is set in 2014 and introduces us to a new group of heroes in space.

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)

This movie takes place a few months after the first Guardians of the Galaxy film and explores Peter Quill’s relationship with his father.

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

Avengers: Age of Ultron is set a year after the events of The Winter Soldier and sees our heroes fighting against Ultron.

Ant-Man (2015)

Ant-Man takes place in 2015 and introduces us to Scott Lang as he becomes Ant-Man.

Captain America: Civil War (2016)

Captain America: Civil War is set following the events of Age of Ultron, where our heroes are divided over government intervention in their activities.

Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

Spider-Man: Homecoming takes place shortly after Captain America: Civil War and follows Peter Parker as he tries to prove himself as a hero.

Doctor Strange (2016)

Doctor Strange takes place around the same time as Spider-Man: Homecoming and introduces us to the mystical side of the MCU.

Black Panther (2018)

Black Panther is set shortly after the events of Captain America: Civil War and introduces us to Wakanda.

Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

Thor: Ragnarok takes place two years after the events of Age of Ultron and sees Thor battling his sister, Hela.

Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

Avengers: Infinity War is the culmination of all the movies that came before it, where our heroes must fight against Thanos and his quest for the infinity stones.

Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)

Ant-Man and The Wasp takes place before Avengers: Infinity War and follows Scott Lang’s adventures with Hope van Dyne.

Avengers: Endgame (2019)

Avengers: Endgame takes place after the events of Avengers: Infinity War and sees our heroes dealing with the aftermath of Thanos’ snap.

  • In conclusion,
  • The Marvel Cinematic Universe is an intricate web of stories that can be enjoyed in many different ways.
  • If you want to watch them in chronological order, you can start with Captain America: The First Avenger, then move on to Captain Marvel, Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man 2, Thor, The Avengers, Iron Man 3, Thor: The Dark World, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, Avengers: Age of Ultron, Ant-Man, Captain America: Civil War, Spider-Man: Homecoming, Doctor Strange, Black Panther, Thor: Ragnarok, Avengers: Infinity War, Ant-Man and The Wasp and finally Avengers: Endgame.
  • Whatever order you choose to watch them in, the Marvel Cinematic Universe is an epic journey that will keep you entertained for hours on end.