Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Order Do the Marvel Movies Run In?

Are you a Marvel fan trying to figure out the correct order to watch all the Marvel movies? Look no further! In this article, we will guide you through the chronological order of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) films, allowing you to fully immerse yourself in this epic superhero saga.

The Correct Chronological Order of Marvel Movies

If you want to experience the events in the MCU timeline as they unfold, follow this order:

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)
  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
    • Note:
      The events of “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2” take place shortly after the first film, so it is recommended to watch them back-to-back.

The Infinity Saga Begins..

Now that you have a solid foundation of the MCU, it’s time to dive into the epic Infinity Saga:

  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Black Widow (2021)
    • Note:
      “Black Widow” takes place after the events of “Captain America: Civil War” and before “Avengers: Infinity War”.

The Countdown to Infinity War.

We’re nearing the climax of the Infinity Saga. Brace yourself for:

  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
    • Note:
      “Spider-Man: Homecoming” takes place shortly after the events of “Captain America: Civil War”.

The Beginning of the End.

The following films set the stage for the ultimate battle against Thanos:

  • Doctor Strange (2016)
    • Note:
      “Doctor Strange” introduces important concepts that will be further explored in future movies.

The Climax – Avengers: Infinity War and Endgame!

You’ve made it! Now it’s time to witness the monumental conclusion of the Infinity Saga:

  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)
    • Note:
      “Ant-Man and The Wasp” takes place before, during, and after the events of “Avengers: Infinity War”.

The penultimate film in Phase Three:

  • Captain Marvel (2019)
    • Note:
      “Captain Marvel” is set in the ’90s but is best viewed after “Infinity War”. It serves as an introduction to a key character.

The Epic Conclusion – Avengers: Endgame!

We’ve reached the endgame! Prepare for an emotional rollercoaster:

  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)
    • Note:
      “Avengers: Endgame” is the culmination of over a decade’s worth of storytelling. Buckle up!

The Aftermath.

The aftermath of “Endgame” sets the stage for future adventures:

  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)
    • Note:
      “Spider-Man: Far From Home” takes place shortly after the events of “Endgame”.


Now that you have the correct order, grab some popcorn and get ready for an incredible Marvel movie marathon! Whether you’re a longtime fan or new to the Marvel universe, following this chronological order will enhance your viewing experience.

Enjoy the adventure!