Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Order Do the Marvel Movies Take Place?

What Order Do the Marvel Movies Take Place?

With the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) spanning over 20 films and multiple TV series, it can be quite confusing to figure out the chronological order of events. In this article, we will break down the order in which the Marvel movies take place in the MCU timeline.

Phase One: The Avengers Initiative

Iron Man

Tony Stark’s journey as Iron Man kickstarts the MCU. Released in 2008, this film introduces us to the genius billionaire playboy philanthropist and sets up his role as a founding member of The Avengers.

The Incredible Hulk

This film follows Bruce Banner’s transformation into the green rage monster known as Hulk. While it is often overlooked, it is an important piece of the puzzle.

  • Iron Man 2
  • Thor
  • Captain America: The First Avenger

All three of these films take place around the same time and lead up to The Avengers. Iron Man 2 delves deeper into Tony Stark’s life, Thor introduces us to Asgard and its inhabitants, while Captain America takes us back to World War II.

Phase Two: Thanos Rising

  • The Avengers
  • Iron Man 3
  • Thor: The Dark World
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 1
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Ant-Man

In Phase Two, the Avengers face new threats, including Ultron and the rise of Thanos. The Guardians of the Galaxy are introduced, and Ant-Man makes his debut.

Phase Three: Infinity War and Beyond

  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Black Widow
  • Black Panther
  • Doctor Strange
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming
  • Thor: Ragnarok
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • Captain Marvel
  • Avengers: Endgame
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home

    This final phase brings together all the heroes to face Thanos in Avengers: Infinity War and Avengers: Endgame. Captain Marvel’s origin story is also told, alongside the standalone adventures of Black Widow, Black Panther, Doctor Strange, Spider-Man, Thor, and Ant-Man.

    The Future of the MCU

    The timeline doesn’t end with Phase Three. Phase Four introduces new characters and storylines that will shape the future of the MCU. With films like Black Widow, Shang-Chi and The Legend of the Ten Rings, Eternals, Spider-Man: No Way Home, Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, and Thor: Love and Thunder on the horizon, there are exciting times ahead for Marvel fans.

    In conclusion,

    The Marvel movies take place in a complex timeline that spans different phases. Understanding their chronological order can enhance your viewing experience and help you connect the dots between different films. We hope this article has provided you with a clear picture of the sequence in which the Marvel movies take place.