Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Order Should I Watch the 22 Marvel Movies?

If you’re a Marvel fan, you know that the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is a massive collection of movies that intertwine to form a cohesive storyline. With 22 movies released since 2008, it can be overwhelming to know where to start and what order to watch them in. In this article, we’ll break down the recommended viewing order for the 22 Marvel movies.

Phase One: The Beginning

The first phase of the MCU introduced us to the Avengers and their origins. Here are the recommended movies in order:

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)

The Proper Introduction to the Avengers

The first phase of MCU culminates with The Avengers, which brings all of our favorite superheroes together for an epic battle against Loki and his alien army. It’s essential that you watch all five movies leading up to The Avengers, as they each introduce important characters and plot points.

Phase Two: New Threats, New Heroes

The second phase of MCU delves deeper into the characters’ storylines and introduces new heroes such as Ant-Man and Guardians of the Galaxy. Here are the recommended movies in order:

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

The Rise of Thanos

The second phase also sets up the main villain of the MCU, Thanos, who is on a mission to obtain all six Infinity Stones. Keep an eye out for each movie’s post-credit scenes, as they often tease upcoming movies or reveal new information about the overarching plot.

Phase Three: The Endgame

The third and final phase of MCU brings everything together for an epic conclusion. Here are the recommended movies in order:

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Captain Marvel
  • The Avengers: Endgame
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home
  • The Final Showdown with Thanos

    Phase three culminates with The Avengers: Infinity War and The Avengers: Endgame, which brings together all of the MCU’s superheroes for a final showdown with Thanos. Captain Marvel is set before most of the events of the MCU, but it’s recommended to watch it before The Avengers: Endgame. Also, don’t forget to watch Spider-Man: Far From Home as it takes place after the events of Endgame.

    The Bottom Line

    So there you have it – the recommended viewing order for the 22 Marvel movies. Whether you’re a die-hard fan or just getting started, this guide will help you navigate through the massive collection of movies and enjoy them in their proper order. So grab some popcorn, sit back, and enjoy the ride!