Marvel / Marvel Movies

What Order Should I Watch the Marvel Movies Before Endgame?

Are you a Marvel fan wondering about the right order to watch the Marvel movies before Endgame? If so, you’ve come to the right place. In this article, we’ll take a closer look at the chronology of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) and help you understand which movies to watch in what order.

Understanding the Marvel Cinematic Universe

Before diving into the order of watching Marvel movies, it’s essential to understand the MCU’s chronology. The MCU is a series of interconnected superhero films produced by Marvel Studios. The franchise began in 2008 with Iron Man and has since grown to include more than 20 films.

The MCU follows an overarching narrative that interconnects all its movies, creating a shared universe with different superheroes and villains. Each movie adds something new to this universe and builds on previous events, leading up to the epic finale, Avengers: Endgame.

The Chronological Order

The chronological order of watching Marvel movies is different from their release order. Here’s how you should watch them:

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger (takes place during WWII)
  2. Captain Marvel (takes place in 1995)
  3. Iron Man (takes place in 2010)
  4. Iron Man 2 (takes place after Iron Man)
  5. The Incredible Hulk (time unspecified, pre-Avengers)
  6. Thor (takes place six months before Avengers)
  7. The Avengers (takes place in 2012)
  8. Iron Man 3 (takes place six months after The Avengers)
  9. Thor: Dark World (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron)
  10. Captain America: Winter Soldier (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron)
  11. Guardians of the Galaxy (sometime in 2014)
  12. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (after Guardians)
  13. Avengers: Age of Ultron (takes place in 2015)
  14. Ant-Man (takes place in 2015)
  15. Captain America: Civil War (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)
  16. Spider-Man: Homecoming (post-Civil War, pre-Infinity War)
  17. Doctor Strange (takes place in 2016)
  18. Black Panther (takes place in 2017)
  19. Thor: Ragnarok (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)
  20. Avengers: Infinity War (takes place in 2017)

The Release Order

While it’s essential to watch Marvel movies in chronological order to understand the overarching narrative, you can also watch them in release order. Here’s how they were released:

  • Iron Man – May 2008
    The Incredible Hulk – June 2008
    Iron Man 2 – May 2010
    Thor – May 2011
    Captain America: The First Avenger – July 2011
    The Avengers – May 2012
    Note:The release order is different from the chronological order. Hence, watching in the order of release may not be a good idea to understand MCU’s storyline.


If you’re a Marvel fan, you’ll undoubtedly enjoy watching these movies in either of the orders mentioned above. However, if you want to understand the overarching narrative better, it’s best to watch them in chronological order. Happy binging!