Marvel / Marvel Universe

What Order Should You Watch the Marvel Universe?

Are you ready to dive into the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU)? With over 20 films and multiple TV shows, it’s easy to get overwhelmed with the sheer amount of content.

But fear not, true believers! In this article, we’ll break down the best order to watch the Marvel Universe in order to fully appreciate and understand the epic storylines.

Release Order

The most straightforward way to watch the MCU is in release order. This means starting with 2008’s Iron Man and going all the way up to 2019’s Spider-Man: Far From Home. This method allows you to see how the universe has evolved over time and how each film builds upon its predecessors.

However, one downside of this method is that it can be jarring to jump back and forth between different storylines and characters. Additionally, certain films may reference events or characters from future films that you haven’t seen yet.

Chronological Order

Another option is to watch the MCU in chronological order. This means starting with Captain America: The First Avenger (which takes place during World War II) and ending with Spider-Man: Far From Home (set after Avengers: Endgame).

Watching in chronological order can help you better understand how events fit together within the MCU timeline. However, some films take place simultaneously or have overlapping timelines, so it can still be a bit confusing.

The Hybrid Approach

For those who want the best of both worlds, there’s a hybrid approach that combines elements of both release and chronological orders. This involves watching each phase (groupings of MCU films) in release order but then placing them within the overall MCU timeline.

For example, Phase One would start with Iron Man and end with The Avengers, but The First Avenger would be watched before Iron Man as it takes place earlier chronologically. This method allows for a smoother viewing experience while also maintaining the overall timeline.

The TV Shows

In addition to the films, there are also multiple Marvel TV shows that tie into the MCU. These include Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage, Iron Fist, The Punisher, and The Defenders.

The TV shows can be watched at any point in your Marvel journey as they mostly exist within their own separate storylines. However, some of them do reference events from the films and can enhance your understanding of certain characters or events.

The Bottom Line

So which order should you watch the Marvel Universe in? Ultimately, it depends on your personal preference.

If you want to watch everything in release order and experience the universe as it was originally presented, go for it! If you want to better understand how everything fits together chronologically, go that route.

Regardless of which method you choose, one thing is for sure: watching the MCU is an epic journey that’s full of action, adventure, and unforgettable characters. So grab some popcorn and get ready to enter a world unlike any other. Excelsior!