Marvel / Marvel Movies

Which Is the Correct Order to Watch Marvel Movies?

Are you a Marvel fan who’s getting ready for a movie marathon? With so many movies in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), it can be confusing to determine the right order to watch them. In this article, we’ll explore the correct order to watch Marvel movies and explain why it matters.

Release Order vs Chronological Order

Before we dive into the details, it’s important to understand the two most popular ways to watch Marvel movies: release order and chronological order.

Release order is the order in which the movies were released in theaters. This is how most people watched them as they were released over time. The advantage of watching them in release order is that it allows you to experience the MCU as it was meant to be experienced by its creators.

Chronological order, on the other hand, is the order in which events happen within the MCU timeline. This means starting with Captain America: The First Avenger, which takes place during World War II, and ending with Spider-Man: Far From Home, which takes place after Avengers: Endgame.

The Correct Order

Now that we’ve explained both orders let’s get into what is actually recommended. The best way for beginners to start watching Marvel movies is by following their release dates rather than chronological ones.

Here’s a list of all 23 Marvel Cinematic Universe movies in release order:

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

  • Ant-Man and The Wasp(2018)

  • Captain Marvel(2019)

  • Avengers: Endgame(2019)

  • Spider-Man: Far From Home(2019)

The Benefits of Watching Marvel Movies in Release Order

By watching Marvel movies in release order, you can see how the MCU evolves over time. You can experience how each film sets up the next and how characters are introduced and developed. You’ll also be able to understand references and callbacks to previous movies.

Moreover, watching in release order is a great way to appreciate the growth of the franchise and its impact on popular culture.

In Conclusion

While there’s no “wrong” way to watch Marvel movies, following their release dates is the best option for beginners or anyone who wants to experience the MCU as it was meant to be experienced. But if you’re a hardcore fan who wants to watch the movies in chronological order, go ahead and do that too! Ultimately, the most important thing is to enjoy the movies and have fun watching them.

Happy watching!